Current Obsession: The Brothers Bloom

I would like to point out I just saw this movie yesterday and I am already BEYOND obsessed with it, but before I give you my reasons why check out the trailer. I dare you not to think of five reasons just from seeing it….

See what I mean? If there is that much awesomeness in a trailer can you imagine how fantastic it is to sit and watch the whole movie… trust me your head almost explodes from the greatness. And with that said here are my five reasons I am obsessed with The Brothers Bloom:

1. The Clothes!

Seriously I have not been this impressed with wardrobe choices since A Single Man. There is not one character in this whole film that is not fantastically dressed from head to toe. The clothes are so great because they are not only fun to look at they also make you want to live in the characters world. I want to wear Rachel and Rinko’s outfits and go on adventures with cute guys dressed like Mark and Adrian. As a matter of fact since watching this movie yesterday all I can think about is filling my closet with cute swing coats, fun 60’s inspired dresses, awesome hats, and fantastic leather gloves.

2. Mark Ruffalo and Adrian Brody

Let’s face it, there are a million movies that pair up hot guys in even hotter clothes but Bloom is special. Mark and Adrian are not just your everyday run of the mill hot actors they are talented, quirky, unique looking hot actors which makes them uber special. It’s one thing to be conventionally good looking (that’s easy), but to pull of good looking with crooked smile or a weird nose that takes skill.  Plus it makes them special, ever seen another actor that looked just like them? Didn’t think so.

3. Rachel Weisz and Rinko Kikuchi

I love Rachel and her movies are pretty much always great, she’s a fav. Rinko on the other hand I had never heard of, but after watching how awesome she was in this (while being completely silent I might add) I kinda love her.

4. The Locations

I spent the whole movie wanting to jump in the screen and join in the adventures. Not only were the places beautiful they looked like a ton of fun… well if you happened to be traveling with a bunch of hot cooky con people in awesome clothes.

5. Quotes

Here are some gems:

I think you’re constipated, in your fucking soul… I think you might have a really big load of grumpy petrified poop up your soul’s ass.

I don’t know about “truths.” A photograph is a secret about a secret. The more it tells, the less you know.

The perfect con is one where everyone involved gets just what they wanted.

This was a story about a girl who could find infinite beauty in anything, any little thing, and even love the person she was trapped with. And i told myself this story until it became true. Now, did doing this help me escape a wasted life? Or did it blind me so I didn’t want to escape it? I don’t know, but either way I was the one telling my own story…

Your smile is the sun, ma chère. And fallen men, we need the sun.

I’m not thrilled they set this in Mexico. There could be legitimate reasons, but Mexico’s- and I don’t like to simplistically vilify an entire country- but Mexico’s a horrible place.

There is no such thing as an unwritten life, only a badly written one.

Trying to get something real by telling yourself stories is a trap.

The trick to not feeling cheated is to learn how to cheat.

Yeah and those are my reasons and in case they are not convincing enough here are like a bazillion pictures just for you…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Yeah so get off your ass and go watch it or else!

3 thoughts on “Current Obsession: The Brothers Bloom

Leave a Reply

