Olive Garden Can Suck It and Other Life Tales

Hola,

Catchy title don’t ya think? I made that title because in today’s blog I am writing about my personal challenge for the day. If you have ever been to Olive Garden you may be familiar with their soups, mainly because that is the one thing they do really well. And if you are like me you love love love their chicken gnocchi soup. Now I don’t know about you but I don’t live anywhere near the olive garden and I don’t drive, so I can’t even get there easily.  Plus the only reason I would want to go is because of the soup and breadsticks which in my opinion is no reason to go on a 1-2 hour trek.

Which leads me to the challenge: recreate the soup and breadsticks that I love so dear.  Breadsticks were easy seeing as Texas toast makes some that come damn close, but the soup would take a little work. So I set off to the internet to find a recipe and of course came up with a million (all different).  This would have stopped most, but once I set my mind to something I will not let it go mainly because I’m a brat that can’t take the answer no. But I digress, after much searching and my own ingenuity here is the recipe I came up with:

3 boneless skinless chicken breasts (shredded or chopped)

2 carrots shredded

1/4-1/2 onion chopped very small

1/2 pack frozen chopped spinach

1 box chicken broth

1 can cream of chicken soup

half and half (judge how much for yourself)

butter (you judge how much)

chicken soup base (if you live in Chicago you know there are a ton of Amish stands and stores downtown, so go to one and pick up their base…it is awesome!)

1 pkg gnocchi (find it in the pasta isle)

Parmesan cheese (to top off soup)

1. boil chicken and when done shred

2. cook gnocchi (preferably in well seasoned water)

3. over medium heat saute veggies in butter until onions soften.

4. pour broth, cream of chicken, half and half, and chicken. begin using soup base and whatever other seasonings you like until you get the best taste.

5. keep heating through and throw in gnocchi.

6. turn off heat, let sit, and serve.

And that is all! I know my directions are really simple, but I believe that when you cook you should get the general info and then do your own thing from there. I really wasn’t even going to put steps but I figure what recipe doesn’t have them.

Oh and here is what it looked like (also this is the pic for the day):

Not only did it look exactly like it was supposed to, but it also tasted a million times better than olive garden’s. So yeah OG can kiss my grits!

Also I posed this question yesterday on my Facebook, but does anyone else get sucked into watching the ghost whisperer. I swear I watch like 2 minutes of it and next thing I know I am in for the next 1-3 hours. I think something is up with that show….

I SMELL A CONSPIRACY!

Just sayin’

Later ;0)

Leave a Reply

